Up and out!

My mom is a marvelous lady. She gave me a lot of great advice while I was growing up. One of her regular sayings to my sister and I was, “Look up! Look out!” (This would always be accompanied by a hand flourish directed skywards and a big smile). The reason for the consistent repetition of this little saying: introspection often means that we rest our metaphorical heads on our metaphorical chests. This causes one’s gaze to drift down and eventually inwards but to connect with others, one needs to lift one’s gaze up and look out so that one can see others and their needs. Being aware is the first step towards change. This little reminder still rings in my head at the most unexpected times and reminds me to be other-focused, which is something I think we all need to be reminded of often. I am grateful to my mom for this!

Posting on a blog will be a new endeavour for me – another opportunity to look up and out.

Isn’t he cute!

2 thoughts on “Up and out!

  1. SO happy to read from your pen! And thank you for bringing the cat presence to this blog – at long last.
    (For interest sake a new neural AI system can now recognize both human and cat faces due to the prevalence of kittens on the internet – it was trained on random images selected from YouTube)
    Can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

