God’s Air-con

“And he did not do many mighty works there, because of their unbelief.”

(Matthew 13:58)

I work in the air conditioning business, and spend a lot of time trying to make people’s living spaces places they would want to be. It’s never a simple story, there are many factors that influence our feeling of comfort, and it varies from person to person.

I think we are like God like that, that even God has things that influence how comfortable he feels in a place.

What stood out to me this morning is that one of the factors that either makes God feel at home in a life is faith. I don’t mean that God needs our faith to be able to operate. I believe he doesn’t like to operate in that climate, in the same way that we don’t like doing our office work in the midday sun (ok fine, that is person specific ;op).

There are quite a few other factors that stand out quickly from the bible, such as humility, mercy, repentance, and love.

But this morning I am convicted that God loves real faith; expectant-, hopefull-, trusting-, reliant- faith; like a cool breeze on a hot day.

Prayer

Holy God, thank you that you love us. Thank you that you love us so much that you have borne the worst working climates imaginable to help us. Thank you that save us despite spitting and cursing and biting and whipping.

We want to create lives that you enjoy being in. Holy Spirit, please teach us how to switch the air-con of our hearts on.

–          We love you.

“And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.”

(Hebrews 11:6)

5 thoughts on “God’s Air-con

  1. Haha, that’s a lovely thought. I can totally relate, air-con is one of those three things I would take to a deserted island! Thanks for sharing that Finch, you made something come alive in me today…

  2. Wow. That’s awesome. I love how you and JC tend make things so “relational” (theology that is). I’m so used to interacting with doctrines in a book format. Ugh. I guess that’s why nitty-gritty theological debates often make me nauseous.

    • Hi Lylelife, it makes me happy to know that you feel refreshed reading here. Your contributions are also encouraging. That is the heart of our blog, and the ‘philosophy’ behind it actually, that there is something God has placed in all of us that we can share fruitfully.

      Just a little thought on the nitty-gritty. I think that there are times when nitty-gritty can actually be quite edifying. A few times in my life I have felt so encouraged by someone pulling a passage of scripture apart and putting it back together again. My eyes were opened and I felt refreshed. And then of course, there are the nausous times. I think that a lot of what determines whether it brings life to you or death has to do with timing. As Solomon said – there is a time to be nitty-gritty, and there is a time not be. There is a time to be relational, and not to be! The nausea, as you put it, is when the timing is off I think. Sometimes it is just human timing, and others divine timing. A reality which is beautiful to me, is that we can sometimes feel the Holy Spirit’s emotions within us, when He is angry we have this righteous anger boiling up, when He loves something we are singing or doing we can sense a swelling joy inside. I guess we can all grow together trying to know HIS timing – in the times when nitty-gritty sickens Him, let’s leave it, when He frees us to do it lets do it!

      • Mmmmhh. I like this. Thanks for this advice. I just find it hard sometimes to step back from the nitty-gritty because I feel like my natural mental orientation is towards details and dissection—but that’s also probably why I find such relief and beauty in big picture concepts and fly-by readings.

Leave a Reply

