Silly Wonder

When last did you sit and look at the bees at work?

This morning I was watching a lone bee doing his job at a purple-flowered ground-cover  It filled me with pleasure, and I was reminded “Go to the ant, O sluggard; consider her ways, and be wise”.

Observing nature in conversation with God can be very instructive. The thought that stayed with me is that God may find it as delightful when I am simply working the work I’ve been given; uncomplicated, “un-self-conscious”, and diligent as that bee.

One thought on “Silly Wonder

  1. Hmmm. That IS encouraging. Especially since I’m about to start a new job.

    I often feel like I’ve been injected with this idea that I must do big and awesome things for God. That, for some reason, if people don’t know about what I’m doing or if it’s not affecting many, than it isn’t worth it.

    This is obviously a compound of a whole lot of bad ingredients, but I find your analogy refreshing: would God is just as content to watch me silently at work 40 hours a week as we can be watching little critters do there thing. After all, my hearts one true desire (thankfully implanted by Him) is simply to please Him, make Him happy and proud.

    Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

